Open Agenda



Housing, Environment, Transport and Community Safety Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Tuesday 25 February 2014 7.00 pm 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH

Membership

Councillor Gavin Edwards (Chair) Councillor Michael Bukola (Vice-Chair) Councillor Claire Hickson Councillor Lorraine Lauder MBE Councillor Graham Neale Councillor Wilma Nelson Councillor Martin Seaton **Reserves** Councillor James Barber Councillor Sunil Chopra Councillor Patrick Diamond Councillor Michael Situ Councillor Geoffrey Thornton

Co-opted Members

Cris Claridge – Tenants' Council Miriam Facey – Tenants' Council (Deputy) John Nosworthy – Homeowners' Council (Deputy) Michael Orey – Homeowners' Council

INFORMATION FOR MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

Access to information

You have the right to request to inspect copies of minutes and reports on this agenda as well as the background documents used in the preparation of these reports.

Babysitting/Carers allowances

If you are a resident of the borough and have paid someone to look after your children, an elderly dependant or a dependant with disabilities so that you could attend this meeting, you may claim an allowance from the council. Please collect a claim form at the meeting.

Access

The council is committed to making its meetings accessible. Further details on building access, translation, provision of signers etc for this meeting are on the council's web site: <u>www.southwark.gov.uk</u> or please contact the person below.

Contact

Fitzroy Williams on 020 7525 7102 or email: fitzroy.williams@southwark.gov.uk

Members of the sub-committee are summoned to attend this meeting **Eleanor Kelly** Chief Executive Date: 17 February 2014



Southwark

Housing, Environment, Transport and Community Safety Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Tuesday 25 February 2014 7.00 pm Ground Floor Meeting Room G02A - 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH

Order of Business

Item No.

Title

Page No.

PART A - OPEN BUSINESS

1. APOLOGIES

2. NOTIFICATION OF ANY ITEMS OF BUSINESS WHICH THE CHAIR DEEMS URGENT

In special circumstances, an item of business may be added to an agenda within five clear working days of the meeting.

3. DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS AND DISPENSATIONS

Members to declare any interests and dispensations in respect of any item of business to be considered at this meeting.

4. MINUTES

To approve as a correct record the Minutes of the open section of the To follow meeting held on 15 January 2014.

5. CABINET MEMBER INTERVIEW - COUNCILLOR IAN WINGFIELD -HOUSING

Themes for interview:

Lakanal House: Implementation of Corona's recommendations - update - fire sprinklers

Sale of 21-23 Park Street, SE1

Tenancy checks - success rate on annual 100% corporate target

Repairs statistics

Rent levels

Home building

Tenant engagement

6. HOUSING REPAIRS - CHAIR'S VERBAL REPORT

7. COMMUNITY WARDENS - CHAIR'S REPORT

To follow

DISCUSSION OF ANY OTHER OPEN ITEMS AS NOTIFIED AT THE START OF THE MEETING.

PART B - CLOSED BUSINESS

DISCUSSION OF ANY CLOSED ITEMS AS NOTIFIED AT THE START OF THE MEETING AND ACCEPTED BY THE CHAIR AS URGENT.

Date: 17 February 2014

HOUSING, ENVIRONMENT, TRANSPORT & COMMUNITY SAFETY SCRUTINY SUB-COMMITTEE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2013-14

AGENDA DISTRIBUTION LIST (OPEN)

NOTE: Original held by Scrutiny Team; all amendments/queries to Fitzroy Williams Tel: 020 7525 7102

Name	No of copies	Name	No of copies
Sub-Committee Members		Council Officers	
Councillor Gavin Edwards (Chair) Councillor Michael Bukola (Vice-Chair)	1 1	Gerri Scott, Strategic Director of Housing & Community Services	1
Councillor Claire Hickson Councillor Lorraine Lauder	1	Deborah Collins, Strategic Director of Environment & Leisure	1
Councillor Graham Neale Councillor Wilma Nelson	1 1	Jonathan Toy, Head of Community Safety and Enforcement	1
Councillor Martin Seaton	1	Shelley Burke, Head of Overview & Scrutiny	1
Reserves		Aine Gallagher, Political Assistant to Labour Group	1
Councillor James Barber Councillor Sunil Chopra	1 1	Laura Kavanagh, Assistant to Liberal Democrat Group	1
Councillor Patrick Diamond Councillor Michael Situ	1 1	Tania Robinson, Executive Assistant Fitzroy Williams, Scrutiny Team SPARES	1 10
Councillor Geoffrey Thornton	1	Externals	
Co-Opted Members		Carol Vincent	1
Michael Orey (Homeowners' Council) John Nosworthy (Homeowners' Council Reserve)	1 1		
Miriam Facey (Tenants' Council Reserve) Cris Claridge (Tenants' Council)	1 1	Total:	35
Other Members		Dated: November 2013	
Councillor Ian Wingfield [Deputy Leader] Councillor Barrie Hargrove Councillor Richard Livingstone Councillor Catherine Bowman [Chair, OSC]	1 1 1		